Confessions of a Control Freak

I am struggling already today and it isn’t even 9am. I had a phone call from a wonderful, Godly friend this morning that reminded me of something…I can’t do it all!! Can you believe that? God knows I try, but it appears that that just isn’t enough. I always think of a poster in the kids Sunday School room years ago that had a picture of a giant, smiling FROG that had the words Fully Rely On God printed at the bottom. I have NEVER felt that I was very good at that!! I also realize that years of Spiritual Direction taught me that God more often reveals a stepping stone than a complete plan.

Today is one of those days where there are so many things hanging over my head I hardly know what to do first. If I am not careful, I will do nothing because I just don’t know where to start. But thanks to that wonderful friend who called this morning, I will start with the kitchen! It always makes me feel better when the heart of my home is ready to show hospitality to whoever shows up! So, while I scrub dishes, counters and floors I will take time to remember GOD is in control and I will focus on the next small item on the list!! Like my professor used to tell us EVERY semester…”How do ya eat a thousand acre soda cracker?? One Bite at a Time!!”

Blessings for everyone who is overwhelmed! May the peace of God decend on you and focus your efforts!

Leave a Reply

